New
Find
Notify
Tools

Accuracy of takedown rifles?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
In the movies, when a rifle is going to be used to attempt to assassinate someone, the rifle used is frequently a takedown one, and is taken out of a case and assembled in the scene, just before it is to be used.

Interestingly enough, the takedown rifle in the movies is always a bolt action, at least in any movie I've seen -- never, for example, a Savage 99.

I have no experience with takedown rifles. I do have experience with removable scopes, using Leupold QR rings and bases, and I know that with this mounting system a scope can be removed and then put back on the rifle without changing point of impact.

But what about disassembling and reassembling a takedown rifle? Do such rifles tend to retain accuracy when this is done?

"How's that whole 'hopey-changey' thing working out for ya?"

Posts: 5883 | Location: People's Republic of Maryland | Registered: 11 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Takedown rifles can be very accurate. I have a HS Precision takedown in 300 Ultra and 300 Win mag. They are guaranteed to shoot 3 shot 1/2 MOA. It often shoots better than that............................DJ

....Remember that this is all supposed to be for fun!..................

Posts: 3976 | Location: Oklahoma,USA | Registered: 27 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ForrestB
posted Hide Post
This Mauser takedown will shoot MOA pretty consistently if it's not disassembled between shots. As a test though, I shot a five shot group - with disassembly and scope removal between each shot. That test group still measured less than 1.5" across at 100 yards.

Needless to say, I'm more than pleased with the accuracy.

With some takedowns, the first shot after assembly is liable to be a 6-12" away from the prior zero. This rifle always seems to be within an inch of the previous zero when re-assembled.