Find
Notify
Tools

Re: What to build??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Ramrod,

You don't have any of the famous US military cartridges. It's always a good thing to have one around. I would do that before a WSM on a Mauser. My first and last choice is always the 30-06 Springfield.

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What do elephants run out in Texas... About 40 tons?

Posts: 612 | Location: Atlanta, GA USA | Registered: 19 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Savage would you believe that I have been shooting centerfire for over 35 years and have never owned a 30-06 nor to the best of my knowledge fired one.

Lee I see you are in Houston. What part. I'm on the west side. Can't help you on the .330 barrel.

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Steve, you are confusing Elephants with the Houston Cockroach.

One of Us
Picture of lee440
posted Hide Post
I am in Deer Park, out east. I take it the 6.5 holds no interest for you? In recent years, I have stopped acquiring as many "regular" firearms and started picking up British rifles and shotguns, just to be different and because I like old, handcrafted stuff! Lots of "Romance" in it! LOL.
One thing about it, if you want to be different, just open Cartridges of the World to the British Sporting Cartridge section, They had all kinds! I've been contemplating a .404 also, to fill that "hole" between my .375's,.416 Hoffman and .458 Lott. We are having terrible problems with crop raiding elephants on our side of town! Best of luck with your problem! Lee.

Posts: 2269 | Location: Texas | Registered: 18 May 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of lee440
posted Hide Post