New
Find
Notify
Tools

Scope Mount Opinion for Sako 75
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I recently purchased a sako 75 in 300 win. This is my first Sako. Excitement is high, but I have no background for what type of scope mount works well with this rifle. Optilock reads like a safe choice, but I would appreciate any feedback on what has worked well for others.

The scope to be mounted is a leupold VXIII 2.5-8. Thanks.

Posts: 126 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: 24 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Most mounts for Sako dovetails are pretty good. The exceptions would be the Weaver base adaptors (a true abomination) and the aluminum Warne which is said to try to separate the halves on heavier recoiling rifles.

The 2.5-8 is an excellent scope choice. With its 36mm objective, it can be mounted appropriately low. The problem with the Sako Optilocks is that they mount a scope far too high -- even in the lowest model. This drawback, added to the fact that they are both heavy and expensive mitigates against them.

I have original Sakos, Redfield (same as Burris), Leupold ringmounts, and Milletts on various of my Sakos. I like the Leupold Ringmounts the best (they are the lightest and most compact) and the "low" model will amply clear the objective on your 2.5-8x. Many people diss the Leupold, but although they may appear more delicate, I have them on a 7.5 lb .375 H&H where they have given me years of perfect service. Thus far I have them on a .223, .222 Magnum, 7mm STW, .308, .30-06, and .375 and they work perfectly on each. They also give you some fore-and-aft latitude unavailable in most other Sako mounts.

The Redfields are also very good. If you use a Redfield or Burris adapter base, use the low or even super low rings. I have these on a bunch of Sakos ranging from .243 through .300 Win Mag.