New
Find
Notify
Tools

End mill stuck in collet holder
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I think I left it in there too long and it has seized. I've tried Kroil and heat, but it won't budge. The outer collar is loose, and spins free for one full turn, but I honestly don't remember if is is supposed to come all way off, or if is just loosens enough to remove the collet and endmill. (I am a beginner hobbiest and I've only used this thing sparingly...)

I do remember that something internal to the holder was asymetric. I think it was the part that the groove in the collet snapped into, like I had to insert it at an angle. I just can't remember if I need to apply side force to get this thing back apart.

Is there something simple I am missing? I can apply more force if needed, but wanted to check first in case there is a better way. (I've already chipped the flute up high putting a vice grip on it)

Maybe I could get the taper off and drive the endmill out from the inside? Again, not sure if this thing comes apart like a couple of my chucks do.

I don't mind sacrificing the cutter as long as I can salvage the holder and maybe the collet too.

Any ideas?

Posts: 1138 | Location: Washington State | Registered: 07 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
R8 collet on your mill? If so, just whack the tightening screw/rod and the mill should come out. Yes, the collets come out. Heat was probably a bad idea here. Collets need stay springy otherwise your mills will stick; although we might be past that stage now.

Posts: 17294 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
Turn the collet ring one more full turn and it will pull the collet out with the ring

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post