New
Find
Notify
Tools

Double rifle
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Why is all double rifles so expensive? Is it possible for a gun maker to build a cheaper double?

Posts: 751 | Location: sweden | Registered: 15 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Overkill - I'm no expert, but one of the reasons is all the hand work required to regulate the barrels to shoot to the same point.

Posts: 1366 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: 10 February 2003Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
Double rifles are expensive because they're fine guns, not because they're doubles.

The same make shotgun is about the same value and amount of work, but since there were not nearly as many rifles as shotguns the prices have risen.

THere are several makers capable of making and fitting quality doubles to the old standards, but in today's dollars it would cost what a new Purdy would ($110K or so) and Purdy is a NAME that will resell and the same quality gun made by Leroy McDuffy would be discounted 80%.

It's all economics.
Learn to recognize real quality and pick up an unusual caliber double and make cases for it. By the time you find something you like better the original has gone up a bunch. Mine was a .360 Nitro made by Lang and Hussey. Great gun......worth ten times what I sold it for 20 years ago.

[ 06-30-2003, 04:18: Message edited by: JBelk ]

one of us
Picture of triggerguard1
posted Hide Post