New
Find
Notify
Tools

Christensen Arms Titanium Action
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm considering buying a Christensen Arms Ridgeline in 6.5 CM. I can buy one in stainless steel with a carbon stock and carbon wrapped barrel. For $1000 more I can get the gun in Titanium and save 8 ounces in weight(4.8 lb vs 5.3 lb). Opinions?

Quick, Cheap, or Good: Pick Two

Posts: 2148 | Location: Tennessee | Registered: 18 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
For $1000 less than the base Ridgeline, a Howa Super Lite @ 4Lbs 7 Oz comes with with a Sub MOA guarantee, but not SS or carbon wrapped.

https://www.howausa.com/howa-super-lite/

I like light rifles so much, I've been carrying Contender carbines exclusively for 15 years. Some of my favorite dollars will soon be heading off to Howa.

Posts: 50 | Location: Central Pennsylvania | Registered: 01 December 2017Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had one (steel action in .300 PRC) and it was a piece of shit. Especially at the price point.

Posts: 1240 | Location: Golden, CO | Registered: 05 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You've heard of Kimber-roulette? Well, Christensen has the same gamble.
Half my buds (who own Christensen's) swear by them and half swear at them.
I looked hard at buying one but decided to build a semi-custom again.

Of course just one opinion, for free.
Zeke

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks all. I forgot to mention that I' left handed. That limits me.

Quick, Cheap, or Good: Pick Two

Posts: 2148 | Location: Tennessee | Registered: 18 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Michael Robinson
posted Hide Post
Christensen rifles come with sub-MOA guaranties.

I don't think titanium is worth the scratch.

Mike

Wilderness is my cathedral, and hunting is my prayer.

Posts: 13482 | Location: New England | Registered: 06 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Vol717,