THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    Rust Blue Oil bath, What Oil do you prefer and why?

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rust Blue Oil bath, What Oil do you prefer and why?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Nearing the end of a a rust blue cycle. This is my first time doing a Rifle action, barrel and small parts. I'm thrilled with the results so far. Hope it stays that way.

At the end of the process the parts are given an oil bath and left to soak a while. What Oil do you fellas prefer to use ? I've been told from various sources to use 30w motor oil, Transmission Oil, or Boiled Linseed Oil. Are any of those ok or preferred ?

Thanks for the help.

Posts: 239 | Location: Southeast USA | Registered: 01 August 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use ATF.

Posts: 798 | Location: South Pacific NW | Registered: 09 January 2021Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Nothing modern; I use only linseed oil. No bath required; the parts do not need to soak; apply when the metal is hot and it will soak in and spread. You are performing a 19th century procedure and should only use what they had, and sperm oil is banned. I have never had after rust.

Posts: 17294 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Straight soluable oil. It’s alkaline, PH 9.
Best to apply to hot steel.
Never had after rust.

Posts: 640 | Location: Australia | Registered: 01 February 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use Boiled Linseed oil.
Just wipe it on the warm metal and leave it for a few days.
It drys ,,kind of.

At that point I go over the parts with a cloth pad with something like CLP or RemOil on it.
That removes the dried Linseed and covers it with the petro gun oil.