New
Find
Notify
Tools

22 rechamber?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am considering rechambering a TC carbine .22 barrel to 22 mag. I would like to do the work my self. Any one know how diffulct this job will be?
I have never tried this before. I do have some machine skills and have a mini lathe and mill.
Thanks
Rich [Cool]

Posts: 139 | Location: Powell WY | Registered: 17 May 2002Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
As long as the reamer pilot is long enough to reach the lands before the reamer engages you can do it with a T handle tap wrench and plenty of cutting oil. Be as careful as you would be with a small tap to not put side pressure on the reamer. Go slow and clean out the chips often.

Be SURE to headspace with a guage. If a rimfire rim recess is too shallow the cartridge can fire when you close the breech.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks.I think I will give it a try.
Rich [Cool]

Posts: 139 | Location: Powell WY | Registered: 17 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Better hold on there partner.. the 22 is .223 the 22mag is .224.

Posts: 20 | Location: Central Arkansas | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I wouldn't let a mere .001 of bore size scare me.Those lead bullets are very soft. I've seen many a Cooey reamed from 22LR to 22WMR.How do you think Ruger and others made the single actions with two cylinders? Go to it.

Posts: 588 | Location: Sherwood Park,Alberta,Canada | Registered: 28 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Nashcat
posted Hide Post
If you post this question on the single-shot pistol forum, you will find several members that have rechambered Contenders in this caliber. Most of them report excellent accuracy.

Nashcat

Posts: 331 | Location: MiddleTennessee | Registered: 26 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
So what happens if you chamber a jacked .224 bullet in a .223 barrel? Excessvie pressure?

Chris