THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    Wundhammer (missing front sight and front Ross sling swivel)

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wundhammer (missing front sight and front Ross sling swivel)
 Login/Join

posted
Let me start off by saying I'm new to accuratereloading and what an excellent sight it is.
I'm hopping someone can shed some light on a project of mine. I'm currently bringing an old Wundhammer back to life. I bought it roughly 10 years ago at a pawn shop in Southern California, I thought it was a neat old 1903 SPORTER with a quality walnut stock. Sense it didn't have a front sight I was just going to put on a period correct side mount like a Noske, then use it for the upcoming Elk Season. At that time I was refered from one of the gun blogs (can't remember which one) that I should contact Mike Petrov before doing so. I didn't know who Mr Petrov was at the time but I took the bloggers advice. I'm glad I did for two reasons, 1) after talking with Mr Petrov I developed an ongoing friendship with a fine gentleman. Mr Petrov s wealth of knowledge inhanced an even stronger passion then I already had for pre war sporting rifles. 2) After numerous conversations and emailed photos Mr.Petrov informed me that what I was about to destroy by drilling the side of the receiver was a Wundhammer rifle. The rifle was missing the front sight and front Ross sling swivel, as well as the long tailed Lyman peep sight. I found the correct peep sight years ago but have sense not continued the project.
To make a long story shorter, I plan on moose hunting in Alaska this September and I would love to harvest a fine animal with this beautiful piece of America history.

Needed help for my project.