THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stockmakers, just another stupid question...
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm just beginning to start making stocks for others, but not charging at the moment until I am a bit more proficient.
Do I need an FFL to hold a customer's barreled action while building a stock?- Sheister

Posts: 385 | Location: Hillsboro, Oregon | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sheister,

I have a couple of barreled actions that need stocks. What is your address, I'll get them right out.

Todd

Posts: 1248 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: 14 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Steve
posted Hide Post
All, I've been to Sheister's place and seen some of his work. It is very nice.

Sheister, Sorry I don't know the answer, but I'd venture to bet you'll need the license.

Drop me a line some time.

Take Care,

-Steve

Posts: 2781 | Location: Hillsboro, Or-Y-Gun (Oregon), U.S.A. | Registered: 22 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Absolutely. Any time you, the gunmaker, hold a customers firearm for any period longer than 24 hours you need an FFL and have to log the firearm into your ATF logbook.

Posts: 1240 | Location: Golden, CO | Registered: 05 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I believe an FFL is required when you are in the act of doing business as a gunsmith. I do not believe if you are doing it as a favor that it is required. I will do a search but I believe the key is doing business.

Posts: 4917 | Location: Wenatchee, WA, USA | Registered: 17 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
Just to help you out, I'd be glad to send you my MRC short action and a laminate blank to practice on. It's just my way of being a good guy. [Big Grin]

Posts: 12608 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post