Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Darkening New Oil Finish
 Login/Join

posted
I recently bought a new Kimber rifle with an oil finish. I would like to darken the stock and bring out the lines in the wood. Can I just apply oil to the stock? What kind?Do I need to sand? Or should I just learn to love the stock as is? Keep in mind I have no experience with stock finishes ( other than scratching them)
Chip

Chip Pitcairn

Posts: 42 | Location: Corpus Christi, Republic of Texas (occupied) | Registered: 31 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
There are several methods of darkening an oil finish . Simply buy an oil soluble stain or dye add a

preferred amount and allow to set or penetrate wipe excess off . A small amount is advisable as one can

always add additional coats to much and it may defeat your purpose . A light abrasion induces coloring of

the stock better . Perhaps say 400 grit wet and dry paper coupled with oil and stain .

Any wood working refinishing supply out let should have just what you need . Some even use colored

(Coffee colored )floor wax over an existing finish , which eventually darkens the substrate .

Posts: 4485 | Location: Planet Earth | Registered: 17 October 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would carefully strip it, stain it with chestnut ridge or outer's stain, and refinish.

if you have checkering that could be a PITA.

keep all water off the stock so you don't have to resand.

posted Hide Post
Thanks for the advice. If I just add oil to the current finish will it bring out the figuring in the wood? Chip

Chip Pitcairn

Posts: 42 | Location: Corpus Christi, Republic of Texas (occupied) | Registered: 31 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
maybe. the easiest way to find out is to apply some mineral spirits to the stock. it imitates what effect the oil will have.

One of Us
posted Hide Post