New
Find
Notify
Tools

very basic scope mounting question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Are there any advantages to one piece bases over two piece bases? Why would you choose one over the other if they both fit?

Thanks.

Posts: 93 | Location: san antonio, texas | Registered: 20 August 2002Reply With Quote
<G.Malmborg>
posted
The concensus is that a 1 piece base helps to stiffen the action... Also, a 1 piece base is less likely to be as out of whack as a 2 piece base. 2 piece bases are picked #1 for looks and #2 to save weight.

Malm

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by G.Malmborg:
The concensus is that a 1 piece base helps to stiffen the action... Also, a 1 piece base is less likely to be as out of whack as a 2 piece base. 2 piece bases are picked #1 for looks and #2 to save weight.

Malm

Not an opposing point of view, necessarily, since you are a pro IIRC and I am an amateur --

But I have always figured that a 1-piece that is the least bit out of whack might impose some stresses of its own on the action.

Additionally, a 2-piece allows more room for loading & manipulation & carrying with your hand around the action.

I do use alignment rods & now lap the rings to reduce misalignment.

John

Posts: 1246 | Location: Northern Virginia, USA | Registered: 02 June 2001Reply With Quote
<G.Malmborg>
posted
Yup, that too.

Malm

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by G.Malmborg:

Malm

Disagree on all counts. First, the receiver is MUCH stiffer than a one piece scope base. If one is to impose a stress on another, it will be the receiver on to the base. Second, it is just as easy to mis machine a one piece base as it is a two piece set.

Posts: 2206 | Location: USA | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
<G.Malmborg>
posted
Ksduckhunter,