New
Find
Notify
Tools

AFRICAN EXPRESS OLD ENGLISH STOCK FINISHING KIT
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I had a new stock to finish, and thought I'd take a look some of the options other than our old stand by's. I cane across something called the "Old English Stock Finishing kit" that claims to provide a finish that looks just like the hand rubbed oil finishes found on older British rifles.

I am by no means a pro at this, having probably finished or refinished about a dozen of my own stocks over the years. But I am not exactly a novice to woodworking. In addition to gun stocks, I have finished and refinished a fair amount of furniture and antiques my better half drug home over the years. Therefore, I have a good understand and appreciation for a good hand rubbed finish, and the time it takes to achieve that result.

Checking a little more in depth, I found that an outfit called African Express in South African manufactures the kits and components, and Brownells distributes the kits here in the US.

The African Express site is pretty limited in its information:

http://www.gunstockblanks.com/oldafrican/

quote:
This collection of finest quality finishing & maintenance products has been meticulously manufactured using only the finest ingredients, developed to create an Old English Best Quality London Gun Finish.

There are many products available that produce a good looking finish in 2-3 days, but later become dull, fade, lose colour and depth, and darken. The African Express finish, which, through regular routine maintenance, can be maintained indefinitely.

Included in the kit are one of each kind of the following products:

STOCK FINISHING OIL
This unique blend contains modified linseed oil, waxes, the famous alkanet root and hardeners creates the base for this ultimate in old english stock finishes.

PORE AND GRAIN FILLER