New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shipping a Firearm, what is the policy
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
If I wish to ship a rifle, via FedEx or UPS, across state lines. Am I correct in believing that if I, not being an FFL holder, can ship the rifle to a recipients local gun dealer, providing he has sent/faxed me a copy of his FFL to enclose in the shipping carton with the rifle. I am sure you folks know these rules by heart but I have very little experience with this and would appreciate your input. Thanks in advance for your guidance.

Posts: 245 | Location: The Show Me State | Registered: 27 November 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The ATF rules/regs are just part of it.

UPS and FedEx have some weird policies involving guns. You have to use a bonafide outlet, not a local counter (sub-contracted). My nearest UPS counter is 87 miles away and FedeX 110!

I use USPS Priority Mail.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1621 | Location: Potter County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
+1 on shipping USPS.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
UPS will pick up from me and ship, but I have had better luck with the post office.
Butch

Posts: 8964 | Location: Poetry, Texas | Registered: 28 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Mike_Dettorre
posted Hide Post
The easiest way to ship is the United States Postal Service...

and for the 1000 time, a non FFL holder DOES NOT NEED a copy of the FFL's license. In fact many ATF agents instruct FFL's to not send a copy of the their license to non-FFL holders.

UPS requires you to have one but that is UPS's rule not the law.

That is one of the reason's why using the USPS is bar the easiest.

Mike

Never under estimate the internet community's ability to reply to your post with their personal rant about their tangentially related, single occurrence issue.