New
Find
Notify
Tools

Remington 720 action
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I would like some input from the 'smiths and enthusiasts on this board.

I have been putting together a .458 caliber rifle for awhile now (or having the work contracted out I should say).

I was offered a true Remington 720 action last night (for $850) by a gunsmith friend who has acquired 2 of them (one for him, one for me).

I had seen these at his office before, while the owner decided what to do with them (his client collects Remington 720 rifles, and owns 8).

The condition is perfect.

I am inclined to purchase this, simply because they are so well made, and obviously hard to come by. I am not an expert on these, but previously all the ones I had seen were on the original rifles (which you know are a prize amoung certain collectors).

These are NOT model 30's that were changed around.

I believe this one was made in '41, which is amazing when you hold it since the design looks almost modern to me (or maybe I am just geting old).

So my question: Should I purchase it and make my bigbore with it? This action makes the choice easy for me....458 Lott (but I still HATE belted cartridges).

Thanks for your help.

Garrett
P.S. I hate belted cartridges.

Posts: 987 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 23 June 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Another .458 cal round that does not have a belt is the .450 Rigby......would this action fit that ?? Just an idea.

Posts: 7505 | Location: Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
$850 for a 720 action? Wow . I have one complete with a m30 bottom , Maybe I could get $1000 for mine.

If you want it , buy it. I think they are all made in 1941.

Posts: 4821 | Location: Idaho/North Mex. | Registered: 12 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
GSP,

Are you thinking $850 is overpriced?

I haven't seen any 720 actions for sale before.
The ones I had seen were all complete rifles.