Find
Notify
Tools

Improved Muzzle Brakes
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Kory
posted
I was browsing through the Brownell's catalog, and I came accross these two muzzle brakes:

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=6669&title=QUIET+MUZZLE+BRAKE

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=13835&title=RIFLE+MUZZLE+BRAKE

What sets these two apart is that they claim that they redirect the gases away from the shooter more than other brakes. I have a brake on one of my rifles, but I seldom use it because it seems to cause strange problems with my sinuses and causes me to blink a lot afterward. Almost like I have dust in my eyes.

I'm wondering if anyone has used these brakes and if they really are better than they other brake like they claim to be?

Regards,
Kory

Posts: 860 | Location: Montana | Registered: 16 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
I've been making brakes for aound 20 years now in every imaginable configuration you can think of & the are ALL loud.

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Kory
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by D Humbarger:
I've been making brakes for aound 20 years now in every imaginable configuration you can think of & the are ALL loud.

I'm not concerned about load, I'm trying to reduce the blinking and the weird feeling in my sinuses. Are that related to the loudness?

Kory

One of Us
Picture of Ben589
posted Hide Post
Might be related to some additional concussion waves that get directed back towards the shooter when using a brake if you're sensitive to pressure-wave changes.