Find
Notify
Tools

Welding Lug on TC barrel??
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Lar45
posted
Hi, how would I go about welding a lug on a barrel for a contender? I'm thinking about milling a piece of 4140, then turning a barrel blank to size and putting them together. I could then use factory parts for the locking bolt and extractor, or try and make my own also.
My TC barrels have a tiny little bead inbetween the barrel and lug. On JD Jones site he mentions Electron Beam welding. Never heard of it. Could I use a regular Mig wire feed, then normalize after welding??
Thoughts?

Lar45

White Label Lube Co.
www.lsstuff.com
Carnauba Red high speed cast bullet lube.

Posts: 2924 | Location: Arkansas | Registered: 23 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
For whatever its worth, the Marine armorers TIG weld the recoil lugs on their M40 sniper rifles.

I’m not a professional welder, but I would assume that TIG is preferable since it’s a faster process that doesn’t keep the heat there as long as other types of welding.

Posts: 4574 | Location: Valencia, California | Registered: 16 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Bullberry and TC TIG-weld the barrel lugs.

Posts: 49226 | Registered: 21 January 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Mike Bellm did a good write up on welding on the lugs, including what filler rod to use and what to make the lug out of. I don't know if he posted it on his website or not.

You might want to search the single shot pistol forum, because I know the issue has been discussed in the past. Hopefully the thread is still in the archive.

It's a heliarc job, and as I recall requires so pre-heating and post weld controlled cooling. I'm afraid a mig would put too much heat in the barrel, and not produce a narrow enough weld.

As far as I know, all the aftermarket shops TIG their lugs on the barrels, only T/C does the electron beam weld.