New
Find
Notify
Tools

Badger bolt handle lathe jig?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I saw a picture of a simple jig that held a rifle bolt for turning the existing knob down for threading to take the badger knob.
Can anyone direct me to it?
Thanks.

Posts: 2286 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I found the pic, but now, looking at it, it seems like it might be a bit harder to build than I thought.

How to you get it so that the bolt handle spins concentricly?

I am very new to machining, and this is one of the first projects I am looking at doing.
What rpm would you use with so much of the bolt flying around? That jig will have to take a lot of stress with the centrifigul force generated, even at a couple of hundred rpm? no?

Thanks.

By jomas at 2007-08-01

Posts: 2286 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fireball168
posted Hide Post
If you look at the jig, its locating off the root of the handle and the bolt body. There wouldn't be any setup at all using this jig, the way I see it.

You'd centerdrill the end of the knob, run your center in, machine or grind off however much you need to of the current knob, then thread and install your knob.

Posts: 1332 | Location: IN | Registered: 30 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted Hide Post
If you don't have a jig but do have a mill and a indexible boring head you can cut these pretty easily. Clamp the bolt in your vice with a v-block and use the boring head to cut down the outside of the knob to the diameter you need. Probably not as precise as the lathe jig but it does work.

John Farner

If you haven't, please join the NRA!

Posts: 2944 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Bent Fossdal
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Toomany Tools: