Find
Notify
Tools

Savage Model 11 STUCK BOLT
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Austin Hunter
posted
So a friend called me from our hunting lease (I will be there tomorrow) and said his bolt is stuck, won't open. (I need to confirm it's empty, but believe so).

Where should I start tomorrow when I get there? I've never worked on a Savage before.

"Evil is powerless if the good are unafraid" -- Ronald Reagan

"Ignorance of The People gives strength to totalitarians."

Want to make just about anything work better? Keep the government as far away from it as possible, then step back and behold the wonderment and goodness.

Posts: 3078 | Location: Austin, Texas | Registered: 05 April 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Find out if it happen after he fired it

Could be struck because of a over load

Make sure the safety is in the proper position.

If you still can't get open and you know it is empty see if it is cock it not dry fire it and see.

If nothing then pull it from the stock.

Posts: 19527 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I know nothing about Savage rifles but is it worth taking a rubber hammer or wooden mallet in case it's possible to hammer the bolt open ?

Hunting.... it's not everything, it's the only thing.

Posts: 2069 | Location: New Zealand's North Island | Registered: 13 November 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Do not do that first.
First, make sure the safety is in the Fire position. Some savages have safeties that lock the bolt.
Second, ask him if he fired a round; if so, then open the bolt with force. It will either come out or break off the extractor, or shear the rim. If it does that, punch the case out with a cleaning rod.
Removing it from the stock won't help.
Every time I hear this story, it is from reloads that had issues.

Posts: 17247 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post