Find
Notify
Tools

First 1911 Build
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
OK,
This is my first build. The parts are...
STI basic frame for 45acp
STI government style slide
STI firing pin
STI Firing pin stop
STI Disconnector
STI Grip Safety
Storm lake threaded barrel w/ bushing, pin & link
Caspian Extractor
Ed Brown Firing pin spring
Ed Brown Plunger tube
Ed Brown rebuild kit – pins and springs
10-8 flat long trigger
Brownells magazine catch
Brownells Hammer Strut
Brownells SS firing pin
Wolff Sear sping
Wilson Recoil Spring Plug Stainless
Wilson Extended Ejector
Wilson Flat wire Recoil spring kit – spring, guide and buffer
Wilson Flat main spring housing
Thumb Safety, Hammer and slide catch unknown (acquired from other guns over the yeas.)
Grip bushings and screws off amazon – unknown but look like good quality.

I shot 50 rounds today. The first mag had a couple rounds that didn't go closed all the way. But the last mags ran without issue, minus the last round. For some reason the slide wouldn't close on the last round on any mag. I only used Wilson Combat 8 shot mags. I may dig out the ACT mag and Chip McCormics later.

I have not for sure decided on the sights. I am thinking XS express sights. They make a night sight version that fits the dovetail. I'll have to dove tail the front sight to use it. Yes, those are genuine elephant ivory grips.

All the brass was ejected back and to the right most of it missing me. I did get a couple on the head. Ammo was PMC brass. Accuracy is unknown due to no sights.

I bought the slide for $125 from Dawson, Frame off of gun broker for $100 and Brownells for the small parts at dealers cost - We run a gun shop in Phillipsburg, KS. I have some more fitting to do and hopefully the last round thing will work out in the wash.

This was my first attempt and I loved it. I may cerakote at our shop or send it off to Robar for NP3 or like treatment. Haven't decided on the finish yet.