New
Find
Notify
Tools

go/no go guages
 Login/Join

<philinms>
posted
Does anyone know the difference (in thousandths)in chamber depth between a "go" and "no go" guage and between a "no go" and "field" guage. I understand that a "go" guage should represent the SAAMI minimum chamber, or in other words to insure that all factory cartridges will chamber your bolt must close on a "go" guage

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
As I recall (off the top of my head, may be way off) the field gauge is 0.004" longer then the go gauge, and the no-go is 0.006" longer then the go.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
It depends on caliber. Rimless bottleneck is usually Go= zero and No-Go = +.007 Belted mags are Zero and plus .004. Some English express calibers are plus .010.

I've been a professional gunsmith/maker for 33 years and have yet to own a No-Go gauge. I use a Go and an indicator to measure the slop with. I want to KNOW what the excess headspace is, not guess at it.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I Know this from from a P-17,go 0,no-go +.006,and field +.009.

Posts: 480 | Location: B.C.,Canada | Registered: 20 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
Mr. Belk,

What do you like to set your headspace at? is there a magic number you strive for?

-Mike

Posts: 4864 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JBelk:
I've been a professional gunsmith/maker for 33 years and have yet to own a No-Go gauge. I use a Go and an indicator to measure the slop with. I want to KNOW what the excess headspace is, not guess at it.