Find
Notify
Tools

rethreading a rem barrel to fit a turk
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Robgunbuilder
posted
I saw the discussion on rethreading a rem barrel to fit a Turk small ring action. What are the specifics? I assume the rem threads will be turned off and rethreaded to the Turk thread dimensions. What are they? I've never done this before, but have a few rem barrel takeoffs and can get a Turk at Big Five.-Rob

Posts: 6314 | Location: Las Vegas,NV | Registered: 10 January 2001Reply With Quote
<timpage>
posted
I am curious too, turks are cheap and plentiful. I would be interested in sporterizing another turk, including changing the barrel.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm in the process of turning an 8mm Turk plus a Remington barrel into a 'Turkington' 30-06.

The thread on the Rem barrel is about 1.1", and the thread on the large ring Turk is about 9.8", same as most small ring Mausers. It's not too hard to turn the Rem thread down to fit the Turk.

You'll probably want to stick to cartridges with the .473" base, and those with a COL of 3.3" or less. 30-06 and 270 are good candidates because the Turk is a long action. 308, 243 and such should work, if you don't mind a short cartridge in a long action.

The whole process isn't a lot cheaper than buying a whole rifle, unless you can do the lathe work and such yourself, and/or already have a barrel or Turk on hand. However, it is a lot of fun. For recutting the barrel threads, swapping barrels, trimming the chamber, drilling and tapping for a scope, adding a scope base, and cutting and replacing the bolt handle, my 'smith bill will be about $160, plus $50 for the Turk, plus the price of the barrel, plus $17 for the low scope safety. If you have a barrel with sights, you don't really have to worry about some of that, and you could get a good rifle for a modest investment.... more like $150 total.

Posts: 2281 | Location: Layton, UT USA | Registered: 09 February 2001Reply With Quote
<Charlie S>
posted