New
Find
Notify
Tools

Most Aesthetic Coating for Custom Rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am making a custom, walnut stock 9.3 x 62 on a VZ 24 action. Since, I plan on using this rifle in both Alaska and Africa, I thought one of the ceramic coatings vs. a rust blue might work better. Does anyone have a view on which of the synthetics is the most pleasing and would look most appropriate on a Turkish Walnut stocked rifle. Thank you for your assistance

Posts: 10702 | Registered: 28 September 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
go with rust blue. It is a very tough finish if done properly. Just add a coat of wax on it before going in wet weather and you will be amazed at how good it is at protecting your metal. The other coatings seem to scratch much easier than good rust bluing, and once the protective coat is scratched, you are screwed.

I do not have experience with the ceramic coatins, but I have a lot of experience with rust blue. It will take a lot of out right abuse. Given just a little care it will do all you need it to do.

And if your blank is very suitable for a rifle stock and has been dreid slowly and allowed to age for several years, then give it a proper finish and it will be more stable than many, or even most, synthetics. If it has funky grain, is pretty fresh blank, and has an inferior finish, then all bets are off.

Posts: 2509 | Location: Kisatchie National Forest, LA | Registered: 20 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Masterifleman
posted Hide Post
Ditto - Marc_Stokeld! Rust blue is the most durable of metal finishes with possible exception of Roguard.

http://www.robarguns.com/q_and_a.htm

"I ask, sir, what is the Militia? It is the whole people. To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them" - George Mason, co-author of the Second Amendment during the Virginia convention to ratify the Constitution

Posts: 1699 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 14 April 2004Reply With Quote