THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pore filling in the last finishing stages...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a really nice looking stick of claro I’ve been messing with for a few years that is getting close to completion. Lately I have been troweling mud into the cavernous pores. Whenever I do it takes an ungodly effort to cut the hardened substrate back to bare wood to see the final effect. I’m getting really close, but there are a few spots that when the light is just right you can see are not totally flush.

I’ve about had it. Last night I wetsanded the whole thing with 600 grit, wiped it as clean as I could, and just because I wanted to see it glow, I hand rubbed on a first coat of Linspeed. It looks beautiful, and I don’t want to go backwards… again.

Question: I know the right answer is that there are no shortcuts, but are there any shortcuts?

Specifically, I have a small container of Birchwood Casey stock filler that I inherited but have never tried. At this particular point, might I be able to selectively target the few mild problem areas with this product and expect decent results?

I really don’t want to go back to 400 grit and grinding through that rock hard yet gummy buildup of sludge…

Posts: 1138 | Location: Washington State | Registered: 07 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
What are you using for filler? I use no filler; I use the finish, and wet sand it into mud. It isn't that hard to sand back down.

Posts: 17291 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Just wet sanding with spar varnish and letting the mud build up.

I am exaggerating a little bit for effect, but I am just getting tired of cramped fingers and gummed up little squares of sand paper every time I cut it back and discover the last cycle didn't get them filled all the way...