Notify
Tools

What am I missing?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted
Rem 700 BDL in 223.
Shoots 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 groups. I think it should do sub MOA in fact I don't have any scoped bolt guns that shoot this poor.
It has Douglas SS sporter weight barrel and the smith that installed it said he trued the action.
Laminate stock with AL bedding block has been bedded. Tried various pressure points on barrel.
I have tried several different powders, bullets, weights. Swapped scopes, checked mounts.
I have been tweaking this rifle for three years and most of the above have yielded incremental improvements in accuracy but I have run out of ideas on what to do next. Any thoughts?

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3830 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Did you lap the bedding block? I have found that most of these are not round and induce stress. I know you said you bedded it, but if it is not round it won't matter. What twist is it and what bullets have you tried?

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Put dykem on the barrel lug and reassemble. Check to see if the lug is bottoming out or has contact on the front or sides. Check the crown. This is where I usually start. There are almost limitless possibilities but this is where I would start.

Posts: 84 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: 28 January 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Have the barrel trimmed back by a professional 1/4".

That is one of the things one company does to its semiauto if it does not shoot good...

Changes the barrel vibrations/harmonics.

This will also true up the crown.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY