Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

99 Savage in 300Savage caliber
 Login/Join

posted
I just purchased a 99M Savage and have begun reloading for it.I'm using Rem. brass,Wlr primers,150 gr. Sierra and Hornady bullets,and imr 4064 & 4895 powders. My problem is that I'm getting some primer flattening at modest load levels(39 gr. with each powder) producing low velocities (2400 fps). This is out of a 24 barrel.Is this a headspace problem? Thanks in advance.

<Guest>
posted
the only true way to know if you have a headspace problem is to use headspace guages. You should not guess at such a thing.

Usually, flattened primers indicate a pressure problem rather than a headspace problem.

posted Hide Post
Good point.Do you have an idea as to why mild loads producing low velocities would have pressure problems?

<Guest>
posted
Although I have reloaded a lot of ammo, I am no expert, but there are experts here (Saeed for sure) who probably might know if they looked at what you have. It could be a myriad of things, like the cases being improperly trimmed, or the cases not being resized correctly, or the chamber being either too small or two large, or the bullets being a bit to big (don't laugh, it happens), or that you have an odd lot of powder, or too hot a primer, or a host of other things. Probably the best thing to do would be to find a local smith who has some guages and a bore scope, and start there. take out your Micrometer and measure to see if you have any case expansion and significant case lengthening after firing a round. measure your bullets. make sure the powder you are using is the powder you think you are using. recheck your primers. recheck your measureing scale or powder measure. In short, meticulously go through every procedure and every component to make sure they are correct, and if they are, the problem, if it is a problem, is in the gun someplace.

one of us
posted Hide Post