New
Find
Notify
Tools

Savage/Midway Switch Barrel Systems....
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Anyone Use these? It looks and sounds interesting...

I am new to Savage, just getting my first one, a 12 BVSS in 223......

I was looking to get a long action in an 06 or something like that.. and then get the barrels I'd like in the calibers I would like to have, so I can thin out the numbers of rifles in the gun cabinet...

I didn't find much on the Midway web site tonight, but did locate an article in the American Rifleman about it... I tried calling Midway, but they close early for we West Coast shooters....

Interested in any feed back.. any other source for drop in Savage Barrels at a Reasonable cost that any cares to share if they exist out there....

Cheers
seafire
thumb

Posts: 16144 | Location: Southern Oregon USA | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
Seafire check out http://www.savageshooters.com there is a lot of information there on this. You can buy the tools from Midway etc. and prethreaded and chambered barrels from PacNor, Lothar-Walther, SharpShooter Supply (Shilen barrels), Adams&Bennet, etc.

Probably the best source for reasonable cost barrels is buying new take-off barrels from SharpShooter Supply and others. There are a lot of links to companies at Savage Shooters

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12695 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
waveCan those barrels be used on the Syevens 200? Roll Eyesroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..