Find
Notify
Tools

.270 BAR Functioning problems
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 308Sako
posted
Thank God this rifle belongs to my brother in law. I have not been able to make it shoot waorth a darn and have never ever seen a worse crown on a factory rifle. The real problem though is that it doesn't want to function with loads which are at a starting level or lower, just factory ammo. When shooting reloads in new brass the action becomes mushy and will not cycle? Rods bending or what? Any experiences which may be similiar? HELP PLEASE

Posts: 3611 | Location: LV NV | Registered: 22 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of browningguy
posted Hide Post
I've been shooting BARs for a couple of years now, one in 270 and one in '06. I talked to a ot of people about reloading for them and everyone gave the same answer, stick vry close to factory loads. They are apparantly somewhat sensitive to both peak pressure and the pressure curve. My guess is since you are using low piwer loads it's just not enough to make the action stroke reliably.

Also make sure everything has been cleaned well, the one time I had a couple of hiccups with my 270 the bolt had some crud in it. Hold the bolt partially open and really spray it down well. I used gunscrubber then followed up with CLP and that seems to keep mine running.

Posts: 1242 | Location: Houston, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2002Reply With Quote
<G.Malmborg>
posted
I will agree with Browningguy in that you need to keep the operating pressures around that of factory ammo because of the gas porting. Low pressure loads cause "short stroking" and can be a source of frustration to those unfamiliar with the symptoms caused by such a malfunction.