Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brass Sticking In Chamber
 Login/Join

posted
I've got a 300 RUM that I just got done building. It's set up with .003" headspace. After shooting a few rounds through it I've noticed the brass is sticking in the chamber. This is with 2 different factory loads, primers are still round, no signs of high preasure except the sticking. I've got another 300Rum that I used the same reamer on and it handles the factory ammo fine. I used a standard reamer, nothing fancy. I did noticed some tooling marks on the spent brass. Could this be causing it to stick? I'm not a pro, just like to work on my own stuff. Whats the best way to polish a chamber once the gun is assembled. What else could be causing the cases to stick?

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a M70 6.5x55 about 1999 vintage that has a real rough chamber shoulder. Fired Brass shoulder is real rough with tool marks. Pisses me off. I get hard bolt lift/extraction also. Brass shoulder looks like shit with groves like a old record album or worst.

Im going to polish the dam thing. Maybe some dab of 400 grit on a fire formed case shoulder .

Posts: 4821 | Location: Idaho/North Mex. | Registered: 12 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ringing in the chamber certainly can cause extraction problems. Also if the barrel is blued it increases friction too. Try polishing the chamber with 400 paper wet with WD40 or Rem oil spray then 600 paper also wet, after that take a piece of emery cloth and and wrap it around your mandrel cloth side out and burnish the chamber with it.

Posts: 460 | Location: Auburn CA. | Registered: 25 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post