New
Find
Notify
Tools

Worn press
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
A friend has inherited an old Lynam turret press which cams over, any suggestions TO FIX IT.
I have no experience with them but have the technology to repair any mechanical fault as a favour to him.
He will be hand loading 243 only and mainly neck sizing with lee dies..two turns of the die is enough to stop it caming, have I answered my own question?
It has a badly welded repair to the handle. Apart from that it all looks in good order.

Posts: 1138 | Registered: 24 September 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I believe cam over is quite normal. It assures the case has been fully sized. If you don't prefer it then by all means turn the die down further. Is it a C-type press? If so you might also check to see if it has been sprung - the broken handle might be a clue. Make sure the shell holder is flush and centered on the die base at full up-stroke.

Posts: 3788 | Location: SC,USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Bobster:
I believe cam over is quite normal. It assures the case has been fully sized. If you don't prefer it then by all means turn the die down further. Is it a C-type press? If so you might also check to see if it has been sprung - the broken handle might be a clue. Make sure the shell holder is flush and centered on the die base at full up-stroke.

Thank you Bobster for the quick reply. I don't have it on the bench yet and have asked him to send me a pic to jog my memory Confusedand Ill get back to you. tu2jc

One of Us
Picture of speerchucker30x378
posted Hide Post
I thought that all reloading presses actually cammed over? I assumed that it is a means to ensure that the ram takes the same length of stroke every time.