Find
Notify
Tools

Preferred Set-up for Barrel Chambering?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
TO all,

I am just getting started and have been experimenting and researching different set-ups used when chambering barrels.

Lookin gthrough the older manuals it seems that the preferred method back then was to use a live center to get teh barrel true and then support the barrel in the thread area with the steady rest and chamber that way.

More recent text says to chuck the breech end in the chuck, extending the barrel though the spindle bore and out the rear of the bore, then use some type of simplt work support mounted in the back of the bore to center the muzzle end of the barre.

Here is my question, when I found the lathe I though would do everything I wanted, I decided on a Jet 14x40ZX with the big 3 1/4" spimdle bore. I chose this machine because I will be doing 50 BMG work where barrels are often 36 inches long and sometimes over 2.5" in diameter.

This machine is a big gear head machine and the spindle bore length is quite long. I coulduse a rear spindle support if the barrel is 30 inches or longer but for conventional barrel lengths, they will not reach though the bore.

IS using the steady rest to support the breech end an accurate system or is it out dated?

Will this technique produce results that would result in extreme range accuracy. Most of the rifles I will make will be for extreme range varminting and target work.

What are your opinions on teh prefered work set up. Also will the steady rest provide an accurate enough hold to do extreme accuracy work?

Thank for the opinions!

Good Shooting!!!

Posts: 701 | Location: Fort Shaw, MT | Registered: 09 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob G
posted Hide Post