New
Find
Notify
Tools

300WM or 338WM, Griffin & Howe mcmillan stock
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I finally got my pre 64 short magnum action (338). I originally and I'm strongly leaning toward a 338 but a 300WM might be a little more all round rifle. I have a 30-06 that I will always have...another pre 64.
Planning on rebarreling with a #3 pacnor barrel and stocking with a Mcmillan Griffin and Howe stock. I've never tried this stock before...
Comments or suggestions, for any other make of stock. Does Echols make a stock for this configuration?
Thanks in advance,
Terry

Sendero300>>>===TerryP

Posts: 489 | Location: Texas, USA | Registered: 25 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, what the hell do I know, but if it were me, I'd do the 338. It has about the same trajectory as the '06, so familiarity is there. Also, the 300 would make it hard to find a reason to take out the '06, except for maybe curmudgeonery. The '06 and 338 on pre-64 actions, just seem like a great American pair to me. On that, I think I'd have to go with a #4 myself. But it's your gun, and I'm sure you'll love whatever you end up with.
Have no opinion on the stock.
Cheers!

Posts: 2000 | Location: Beaverton OR | Registered: 19 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ElCaballero
posted Hide Post
I second the motion for a 338 win mag.

As a general rule, people are nuts!
spinksranch.com

Posts: 2095 | Location: Missouri, USA | Registered: 02 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I also prefer the .338 and have owned five original P-64 Alaskans in that chambering of which I still have four. I had a pair of them in Micky G&H stocks, but, I found that this was not the stock for me due to recoil issues so I changed one to my .264 Westerner (yup, P-64) and sold the other.