New
Find
Notify
Tools

Opening up a Mark X action...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've got a really slick Mark X action with standard bolt face that I was considering using for a 458 Lott build. What should one expect to pay to have the action opened up, bolt face altered, and feeding work done(excluding the cost of bottom metal)? I had one smith quote $1,000 to $1500 for the above work. That seemed a bit ridiculous to me, but I'm no expert. I'm just a kid wanting a functional gun, not a museum piece. Currently my plan is to find a used Winchester Classic in 458 and rechamber it, but I'm putting together a contingency plan in case I can't find a suitable/affordable donor. Your input and recommendations are appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone

Posts: 665 | Location: Missouri | Registered: 15 June 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
There are Withworth rifles in the US, chamberd for the 458 Win Mag. These are built on the same Mark X action, in the 80-90s and are very nice rifles.

I have seen similar ones going for $800-1200.

Here is a nice one: http://www.cabelas.com/product...-Win-Mag/1529408.uts

I would rather have the Win Mag, then the Lott, as you can build it on a regular M98.

Posts: 615 | Location: a cold place | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
I would buy a Cabelas special 458 (they are a slimmer stock than the Safari Express, and go from there. There have been several on Cabela's site.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Are the Cabelas 458s FN built rifles with the MOA trigger? I'd prefer one with the original style trigger.

Sent from my iPhone

One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
Yes they have the MOA. You can always go Timney, the make one for it now.

Good luck whichever direction you go!

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post