New
Find
Notify
Tools

A little help please.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Why does everyone laugh at me when I’m at the range? Haven’t they ever seen a work in progress before? This is my first attempt at building a rifle, and doing it my way. I just can’t get this damn thing to shoot straight was hoping all of you professional gunsmiths could help me with some easy fixes to make my rifle shoot better.

First off I have a small ring Mauser chambered in 7mm, I cut the barrel back and re-crowned it at just under 19â€. I then drilled and tapped the receiver for Weaver bases. I removed the rear sight on the barrel and you can see all this silver stuff where the sight was, what is this stuff? I doesn’t match the rest of the finish on the rifle at all and I can’t figure out how to get it off.

The stock is where I really shine. I just love working with wood. The stock was a little short for me so I added a piece of wood and a nice recoil pad to make it longer. The wood I used didn’t quite match up with the original so I made some oval pieces to inlay into the side of the butt stock, to make a more custom look. I’m most proud of the forearm cap I made for this rifle. I made my own version of the same type of forearm they use on Win feather weight rifles. I love the way the two pieces of wood come together, you can’t hardly tell that they are different types of wood.

I have the front scope base off of the rifle right now. I’m trying to figure out exactly which holes I want to use to mount the base again. I think this will help with my accuracy if I can get it right.

Anyway thanks in advance for all of the comments. Here is my photos of my baby.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
The silver stuff is soldering. You can scrape it off with one of those single edge razor blades and rub with some fine sand paper and use cold blue if you wish.