New
Find
Notify
Tools

New safety for a Ruger #1
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I was pretty pleased with myself so I have to brag a little bit. I'm currently a gunsmithing student and also the happy owner of a Ruger #1 in 458WM. Happy except for the safety. As with many other #1s the cases hit the front of the safety button when ejecting. So I decided to do something about it. Not wanting to just cut the front of the safety off I got brave.

http://s1205.photobucket.com/albums/bb437/Bloodnativ/

I hope these show up. I am going to file the "hump" down a little bit more, refile the front and redo the front serations. Mind you this was a first attempt at such a project and I still have another safety button that I can fit and do a bit better. I'll blue it once I get the shape just right.

Posts: 144 | Location: Boiling Springs, SC, USA | Registered: 14 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Big Earl
posted Hide Post
Fine job! Looks like it could go down a wee bit. Always best to keep things a bit proud as it’s a lot easier to file down than too file up. Good job. Earl.

Posts: 364 | Location: Sticks, Indiana | Registered: 03 July 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Make sure the edges are chamfered and smooth, no burrs etc. Try it with gloves too.
Small details can make a big difference in handling.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Great job!

After you finish this one you might consider finishing the other one and stippling or checkering it instead of grooving it, for a looks comparison. Not saying which looks better 'cause that's personal taste, only saying that a comparison might put some new 'taste colors' in your paintbox one way or the other.

And you're starting off RIGHT when you make more than one widget blank in the beginning! I always try to make 3 blanks at first, then I usually lose one of them to some fabbing blunder before actually finishing one (grin).
Regards, Joe