New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tightening claw mounts
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am looking at a drilling where the front claws on the scope mount are just a little loose. I would like a bit more tension. Rather than going to the trouble and time of having them tig welded and recutting would a couple of sharp blows with a hammer on the base spread metal enough to tighten. I would of course do this with the scope still attached.

Another althernative could be to use a metal filled epoxy bearing material and to put a thin skim and then file it up.

Any thoughts please gentlemen.

Posts: 985 | Location: Scotland | Registered: 28 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am no expert on claw mounts, but I an not sure that a layer of steel-bed epoxy that thin would hold up...

What about plating a bit of chrome or electroless nickel on the claws and on the interior of the base? That might be enough to tighten it up, and should also provide some wear resistance. That might cause some issues if you ever did have to weld and refit, though.

Posts: 266 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 09 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Do not hammer on them. Do not use epoxy; that won't last on and off.
Like Red said. Have them plated.
Or I would coat the sides with tin/ silver solder, as a quick and more permanent way.

Posts: 17275 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Side to side ? There should be just a tittle upward tension before the rear locks up.

That tension can be remedied with a bit of "cold forming" i.e. bending the claws slightly

Yes, you'd need an "impact transfer device" (Hee hee) be sure to install a solid bar in place of the scope before you do this. In the process, you can't help but widen the area slightly, which may get you back on the road.