Find
Notify
Tools

My first Custom-Experiment... HELP!!!
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hey everyone,

I haven't posted a lot on this forum so far, but I still hope that you can help me out with my latest project!

I have owned/used/destroyed Roll Eyes quite a few rifles until now, never found the real thing, that's why I decided to go for a Custom rilfe in .308!

My preferences are the following:

1.) uncompromisingly sturdy and imperishable.
2.) precision up to 300 meters.
3.) moderate weight that allows comfortable stalking.
4.) no more than 2500 $.

Here are some components a Custom gunsmith proposed:

1.) stainless action by Winchester/Remington/SAKO - detachable magazin is a must!!!
2.) fluted stainless barrel by Walther/Shilen/Border/Douglas - light varmint or sporter contour.
3.) synthetic stock by HS Precision/McMillan - light version in black.
4.) aluminum bedding all the way and I would like a blued stainless barrel and action.

Now, unfortunately I am not an expert but I am currently using all the education facilities the internet offers! Wink

Anyway, all your comments and thoughts on this project are very appreciated!

Thanks very much in advance and Good Shooting! thumb

Posts: 337 | Location: Germany | Registered: 24 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
elwood, a detachable box mag in a Win is a trick, I 'd think that rules out Winchester with your price max.

Remingtons are much easier for smith's to work, and the aftermarket parts are much much more available for them in comparison to SAKO. I'm a Sako fan, but the base price for one is going to be at least 300 or so above a Remingotn.

McMillan makes great stocks, I have a bunch, but an aluminum bedding block isn't a practical option (maybe not even possible) in a McMillan.