THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bedding Debate: Is there any logical answer?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
OK, Folks: Here we go. I am not a highly opinionated or
stubbornly fixed in attitudes...I'm over 60 years old & have played around with guns & hunting since about 13 years old...I am still learning & am non-alsheimers afflicted.
Now, Mr. Rocky Gibbs of the Gibbs cartridge designs once said: "The primary purpose of bedding is not to force the barrel in any direction, but merely to cradle it very gently to prevent excessive vibrations."..."None of my rifles have shot as well with a full floating barrel as when they are gently supported at the foretip." Now I realize that free floating barrels with a bit of bedding at
the receiver is the vogue now...but I think its mostly a quick & dirty solution. The gunmakers love it, because its so easy & inexpensive. Here's the debate question: I bed all my rifles full barrel length, plus receiver section.
In other words, the entire barrel channel is glass bedded supported like a glass liner...also the receiver area. ALL my rifles have shot better this way than not. This means vs.