New
Find
Notify
Tools

What to do ... What to do ??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well I have a couple decisions to make (long term projects) and would like to get a little feedback and some more information before I do. My wife says I like to over analyze things. But then again that is what I get paid to do for a living so it does tend to cross into my personal life.

I want to round out my rifle collection to include cartridges more suitable for predators/varmints and for Big Bears/Africa. At present I am well suited for Medium to large non-dangerous game. I have a 30-06 in the works and just picked up a sporterized 03A3 in 30-06, a Weatherby 7mm-08, a Mauser K98 in 7mm-08; I also have a little 30 Carbine for a fun gun.

My thought is to use my 03A3 and K98 to go both larger and smaller. Reloading is definitely doable for either so wildcats are in consideration. I was thinking that the K-98 might be better served for my small bore rifle. That leaves the longer 03A3 for the bigger bore. Is there any reason I might want to use the K-98 for the larger bore and the 03A3 for the small bore? Now my question becomes one of suitable caliber/cartridges for my intended purposes.

My small-bore rifle would be used for coyote, bobcat, and occasional groundhog. My intitial considerations are 257 Roberts and 6mm Remington for my smaller bore. What other cartridges should I be considering? Since the action has been modified from its original chambering to accept a 308-based cartridge is it even feasible to �go back� to the 57mm based rounds? Any pitfalls in �going back�? Should I just re-barrel to 22-250 or .243 and call it a day? A 57mm based round would of course make better utilization of the action as the 308-based rounds leave a lot of room in the box. The markings on this action are Danzig 1918 and then 1920. I was told these represent the original manufacture date and the date of refurbishment.