Find
Notify
Tools

Timing of Model 70 Safety?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Gentlemen,
Could anyone point me toward directions for timing of a Model 70 Safety?(Specifically a Classic) Essentially the Cocking Piece to Sear relationship. I'm a CST graduate, however, I asked this question of several instructors with muddled responses. I'm trying to get the same trigger pull after the safety is applied and released. Essentially the operation mentioned in John Barsness's article about D'arcy Echol's Legend Rifle in RIFLE several years ago. Your input is greatly appreciated...

Regards, Matt Garrett.
757-581-6270

Posts: 525 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 26 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
When you purchase a M-70 Safty for a specific make, model of rifle, the directions give you the exact angle of the cocking piece cut. In many case if you harden or reharden the cocking piece notch and lightly polish, things will work better. Your post is a little confusing to me as it seems to address the relationship between the safty and the trigger pull, and although they do relate to each other, both are a seperate operation IMO. Anyway I hope this helps.

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41980 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I reread the above and it may be a little confusing to you. You can grab the cocking piece and pull it back and at the same time attempt to cock the safty, when it catches, that is where you want it to be but if the cocking piece cut is at the correct angle, then it will be positioned correctly. Is that any clearer, or am I muddling you even further.

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41980 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us