Find
Notify
Tools

shipping firearms
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello the campfire:
Although I am a lawyer in real life, there are some questions about the universe, sex, and firearms shipping that I can not answer. A person I know asked me to look into a problem he is having over a rifle he bought from Gun Broker.
The person he bought from shipped it to a FFL holder here in Alabama. The FFl holder refuses to release the firearm because it was not shipped to him by a FFL holder. So one person has the money, another has the Rifle, and another is holding the empty bag.
YOu all who know, is this correct that ony FFL to FFL shipments are allowed, no individual to FFL shipments? Conversations with other FFL holders seem to support this position.
I have sugested that the FFL who received the rifle send it back to the shipper and the shipper then go to a FFL to resend it. This seems a waste of time and money.
HELP
Judge Sharpe

Is it safe to let for a 58 year old man run around in the woods unsupervised with a high powered rifle?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Anyone who can legally own a firearm can ship it to a FFL dealer to do the transfer. Period. That is the federal law and I doubt any local laws with take precedence over that. I would suggest your friend tell the dealer he is going to call the closest branch of the ATF and file a complaint.

My biggest fear is when I die my wife will sell my guns for what I told her they cost.

Posts: 6644 | Location: Wasilla, Alaska | Registered: 22 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
I have looked into this twice with the BATF, Postal Service and UPS. The person taking delivery from the shipping company has to have an FFL and is responsible for insuring that the purchaser meets Federal and any Local requirements to possess the firearm.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."