Find
Notify
Tools

My first stock bedding, and lessons learned
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of cooperjd
posted
ok, total and complete nube here to the world of gunsmithing. but i am somewhat mechanically inclined ( i better be i have a masters in mechanical engineering Wink ) and i love to tinker.

i bought a new remington 798 in .375HH, my first big bore (or med bore to some), but the biggest rifle i have anyway. i like the rifle, got a good price on it, but the barrel was not centered in the channel and it touched the stock on one side. i didnt like this, so i though, what a great way to learn some new skills...

so off to the internet, and reading and reading, and an order to stockys for a small bedding compound kit.

armed with my trusty dremel, sandpaper, and a screwdriver, i went to work chipping out the old bedding from the stock. with it all removed, and the outside of my stock only slightly scratched in a couple places from my bouncing dremel (doh!) it was time to sand the channel and remove a little bit of wood. i also sanded a tiny bit in some spots near the action and rear tang in areas that it had lots of stock contact. i wanted to relieve the contact spots to ensure a centered barrel.

taped up the rifle, put several coats of release agent on every piece of metal i didnt want to stay in the stock, and went to work.

in the end, it turned out ok. not great, just ok. i did, however, screw some things up. i didnt put enough compound just in front of the recoil lug, and i have air gaps in the bedding material along the sides of the stock. the barrel is centered, and free floating from the barrel recoil lug.

what i screwed up...
i wasnt sure what to use to wrap the barrel to give me free floating clearance... so my brilliant idea was aluminum foil, a few layers thick. seemed like a good idea, i taped that on, slathered it with release agent, and let everything cure for 24 hours.