Find
Notify
Tools

Machining Your Own Action
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Kory
posted
Other than plans for a single shot falling block action, I have not seen any plans or anyone machining their own action. I'm talking about making your own action from bar stock material. Is the difficutly level to high for the average machinist? I apologize if this is a very naive question, but its something I don't understand.

Regards,
Kory

Posts: 860 | Location: Montana | Registered: 16 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted Hide Post
Kory, Let me give you one guy's perspective on it. I was a machinist and then a tool and die maker for many years. Then I went to the Univ. Wisconsin and achieved an engineering degree and since then have served in many functions of design and CNC programming of horizontal and vertical (4th axis) Machining centers as well as turning centers.

My experience with investment castings as well as sand castings in grey cast, ductile iron and cast steels is considerable.

Given enough money and time I'm sure I could produce some very fine actions.....but they'd be so expensive that no one could afford them.....unless I was to decide to compete with Ruger, Savage, etc., for mass sales.....and There's a very few that want to do that.....it's extremely competitive.....I frankly don't know how they produce a rifle for the prices they do.....

As long as I can go almost anywhere and buy a Winchester M-70 or a Remington M700 (or other) action for well under $500 there's no way I'd ever try to make them.

There's one more critical issue.....Testing and insurance....I'd be darn sure to test my product to the Nth degree for safety before letting it go to the customers.....and what's the product liability cost going to be to make a dozen actions???

Next time you look at an action count all the parts that go into it. Every one must be tooled in some manner.

I'd love the challenge.....but only with someone elses money!!!!!