New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sako Opti-Lock...Milling them off?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I just got a free pair of stainless steel Sako Opti-Lock rings with my new rifle. They are medium height, but are at least 1/4" too high for my 42mm scope. My uncle has owens a machine shop and I was thinking of having him either mill them down to the height I want or use his wire EDM.

Is there anything wrong with doing this? Also, what tolerance should be expected? I was thinking either 0.001" or 0.0005". I'm a Civil engineer not a Mechanical so that's why I'm asking. For what I do +/- 1/4" we call that close enough. [Big Grin]

OOPS! Forgot to ask...what other type of mounts do you fellas like on Sako's. Mine is a new model 75 stainless synthetic with the flat top type receiver. I had been toying with the idea of getting a pair of gunsmith bases and just drilling and tapping the reciver for standard mounts. I would really like QR mounts in stainless, but don't think they exist.

[ 12-16-2002, 16:35: Message edited by: jcsabolt-2 ]

Posts: 119 | Location: Ohio - USA | Registered: 28 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
JCS,
Unless you just have an abundance of time and talent on your hands I's simply recommend getting a set of Leupold Sako ringmounts for your rifle. They run about $45 from Midway. I'm sure you could mill those bases down and recut the dovetails and other refinements on the end of the base but I'd bet that would take even an experienced machinist 3 or 4 hours minimum.

Posts: 457 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 25 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Actually, on the sako mounts...wish I had a digital camera handy...the rings are flat on the bottom and fit on top of the flat base that comes with them and are screwed together with about a 1/4" hex head screw. All I would be milling off would be the bottom of the rings.