New
Find
Notify
Tools

cryrogentics
 Login/Join

<Colonel>
posted
Any experts out there, I need some information. I don't understand cryogenic treating a action or barrel! I know you dip a part in, I think liquid oxygen for a period of time and presto it relieves the stresses in the steel, well thats what is claimed or is it just hype? Having a degree in Science with a major in Thermodynamics ( Study of heat ) I don't know how this relieves stress in the grain of the steel, or how it hardens the steel for increase wear resistance. I have asked three Metallurgists this question and with out exception they say it marketing hype. Since there is no state change in the steel I fail to see what is going on. Hear is my question WHAT AT THE MOLECTURE LEVEL IS HAPPENING TO THE STEEL? Or is it we shooters have fallen for a flem flam artist idea for making a fast buck? [Frown] [Confused] [Confused] [Confused]

one of us
posted Hide Post
While I'm not an expert in Metalergy the benefit of cryrogenic treatments is to " effect a complete molecular change in most alloy steels, converting the retained austenite into martensite (a more refined grain structure, which is more uniform than austenite ).

Ray

Posts: 85 | Location: Tex | Registered: 29 January 2002Reply With Quote
<Colonel>
posted
quote:
Originally posted by Ray Gunter:
While I'm not an expert in Metalergy the benefit of cryrogenic treatments is to " effect a complete molecular change in most alloy steels, converting the retained austenite into martensite (a more refined grain structure, which is more uniform than austenite ).

Ray

Thanks I was afraid no one would answer. I understand you answer, but I thought this only happen in certain grades of Stainless Steel! But I'll check on it. Thanks for the input

<DOATargets>
posted
Colonel-