Find
Notify
Tools

Reaming chamber on Lathe?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Lar45
posted
Hi all, I'm almost finished fitting my 470NE barrel. [Razz] While I have it in the lathe, can I cut the chamber in the lathe under power? I've done two chamber jobs before, but did it with a Tee handle and hand power. Could I cut most of the chamber in the lathe, then finish by hand?
TIA

Posts: 2924 | Location: Arkansas | Registered: 23 December 2002Reply With Quote
<G.Malmborg>
posted
Lar45,

Provided everything is running true in the lathe, you'll have better success using the lathe from start to finish. You don't have near the control reaming by hand that you would with power and a good steady indicator.

Good luck,

Malm

one of us
posted Hide Post
Use a floating holder for the chambering reamer and the lath can't be beat, that is how I chamber everything. If you have any questions call me building rifles is how I make my living.
#207-938-3595 Ask for Jud

Posts: 130 | Location: St. Albans Maine | Registered: 29 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of gsp
posted Hide Post
Jud, just wondering how you clean the chips out?
Do you have a steady supply of coolant and flush them from the muzzle end out the chamber.
I have been buying short and long chambered barrel's and finish reaming them buy hand or on the lathe. I have thought about buying the reamer holder but this has worked for me so far

one of us
Picture of Robgunbuilder
posted Hide Post
The absolutely best way to cut a 470 NE chamber is in the Lathe. Use either a spider through the headstock or a center rest and a REALLY ACCURATE floating reamer holder and the job will come out fine! Finish the job with a dial indicator on your tailstock to advance the reamer to the final dimensions.-Rob

[ 07-22-2003, 07:34: Message edited by: Robgunbuilder ]

Posts: 6314 | Location: Las Vegas,NV | Registered: 10 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I am just an amateur gunsmith.