New
Find
Notify
Tools

1917 actions ??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
A friend asked if I wanted any of the "old" actions he had laying around and by the time I got there (apparantly he asked other people too) All he had left were a couple mexican mausers that were so rusted I din't think they were useful. I did find an action though. I picked what he said is a 1917 action but I am not familiar it. The letters ERA are on the right side of the receiver ring and below it the serial number 62812-bolt number matches. All it cost me was a few gallons of diesel to get there and back about 5 gals. This action is very long and cocks upon closing. It has "ears" as he called them and he says they will need to be milled off. I am a pretty good machinist but I am not comfortable tackling this job. Is this action any good? If so what can be built on it?

Andy

We Band of Bubbas
N.R.A Life Member
TDR Cummins Power All The Way
Certified member of the Whompers Club

Posts: 2973 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 15 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Its a piece of junk. Send it to me and I will take care of that dangerous thing for you.

......civilize 'em with a Krag

Posts: 291 | Location: Way out west | Registered: 23 January 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Generally the 1917 has been the basis for a custom rifle ..any where from 300H&H to the 600 calibres.

The ERA have gotten a bad wrap due to reported cracking however I've never seen one. They make great rifles and once ground and the marking removed you would be hard press to id it. If this cost you a few miles on your truck you're money ahead.

Taking the ear of is a simple process...1st decide on a profile...you might want to use remington or winchester model 70 profile as scope bases are readily available. Staighten the trigger guard and bolt handle...will compete with any magnum Mauser for a fraction of the cost.