New
Find
Notify
Tools

Parts Washer Solvent: Alternatives???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Just bought a new parts washer and kerosene here is $3/gallon. I always do a final 'wash' with mineral spirits through a refillable aerosal so I am just looking for a lower cost solvent for the parts washer. Any ideas? Thank you,

Posts: 896 | Location: Austin,TX USA | Registered: 23 January 2001Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
Ultraman---

Call your local wholesaler and ask for Stoddard's solvent. It's made for parts washers. Mainly because of the high flash point and no harmful vapors.

It's usually $5 a gallon if you bring your own container. Run it through an oil filter under pressure to clean it........as far as I know it's indestructable. I've been using the same couple gallons since I got here 12 years ago.......of course I've added five gallons or so during that time. [Smile] [Big Grin]

one of us
posted Hide Post
I use MEK at about $4/gallon. Decant the used, dirty stuff into a 5 gallon drum and occassionally put it through my homebuilt still to recover it.

One day I'll get around to building a vapour degreasing tank using a vertically mounted 100 or 150 mm dia stainless steel tube. That will allow me to clean rifles actions, clarinets and bassoons very nicely.

cheers edi

Posts: 222 | Location: Cape Town South Africa | Registered: 02 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
MEK ( methyl ethyl ketone ) is a very potent cleaner but also a very potent toxin. The are much safer solvents.

one of us
Picture of Nitroman
posted Hide Post
"very potent toxin"

I disagree. As long as you do not try to get high from it and do not wash your hands in it fine.

Edi, try methylene chloride for a vapor degreasing agent. Perfect chemical for it. Same same as for MEK.

Posts: 1844 | Location: Southwest Alaska | Registered: 28 February 2001Reply With Quote

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post