Find
Notify
Tools

Where can I find a cheap action???
 Login/Join

<NEW SHOOTER>
posted
I am considering a semi custom rifle.
My thoughts so far are 22-250 with a Kreiger 28" - 30" 1-8 twist Stainless barrel non fluted in heavy varmint, Choate Ultimate Varmint or Ultimate Sniper stock, action TBD.
This will be a mid range target/varmint fun rifle (non competition).
I am open to other calibers if they are better than above, I want minimal recoil.
I am just learning about this so be kind.
Cost is a factor, I read a article in Rifle that did this Under $1000.

Gunsmith recommendations also welcome.

Thank You in advance for your time and help.

Rodney

<CAPMED>
posted
NUEVO LAREDO

<DuaneinND>
posted
Pawn shops, classified ads, gun shows etc., cheap is getting harder and harder to find, for a varmint/target the 700 Rem is hard to beat.

www.duanesguns.com

one of us
posted Hide Post
Short Remington 700 ADL, I find complete rifles in the local pawn shops for $200 to $250, some with scopes. Strip the gun for the action. Put in a stock with either a ADL type magazine or install a blank in the receiver magazine opening and use a solid stock. True up the receiver ring, true up bolt nose, true front and back of bolt lugs, recut receiver threads and lug seats if you are ambitious. Drill & tap for no. 8 scope base screws. Use a pinned Hollands lug, chamber snug with a tight reamer that is smaller than SAAMI specs. 26 to 27 inches is enough for a 22-250. If this is a walk about gun, use about a no. 6 contour barrel and a McMillan stock. The heavy varmint barrel is very heavy. And the Choat stock is very heavy. Using both you will be 16 to 18 pounds depending on scope and mounts. OK for a bench gun but a pain when walking up that hill for a peek over the top.