Find
Notify
Tools

Out of the box....what to do??
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of BCJames
posted
I have Remington Model 700 XCR chambered in 30-06 that I purchased last year. It has been a good rifle, and my limited time at the range with has it shooting just under 1 inch groups with handloads. With some long-range goals in mind I am eager to maximize the rifle's potential. Now that the off-season is here my question is: what should I be looking at doing to this rifle to make it a shooter? I have little experience with this field and would be taking the rifle to gunsmith for all of the work. Thanks for the help!

Posts: 133 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 09 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
How much more accuracy do you need? Less than 1 MOA with handloads is about all a person needs in a .30-06.

I sent my 2" MOA guns to Hill Country Rifles for "accurizing" and got 1" MOA rifles back with the same ammo.

Posts: 10378 | Location: Texas... time to secede!! | Registered: 12 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BCJames
posted Hide Post
"need" and want are two different things Wink

I have had a lot of fun shooting the gongs out to 550 yrds at our range using a target knob. I want to start taking the long-range stuff to the next level...without purchasing another rifle.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Good luck. I seriously doubt that it will shoot much better without a new barrel.

Not that the way it shoots now is bad. Smiler

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Under an inch for an out of the box rifle is pretty good. Start messin' with it and it might get better, but then again, it might get worse. If you haven't already, I would either have the factory trigger fine tuned and adjusted or replace it with a quality aftermarket unit. The effect of a good trigger might just pleasantly surprise you.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Tex21
posted Hide Post